Babbling Books #7 ~ The BFG

The BFG

By: Roald Dahl

 

the_bfg_dahl_novel_-_cover_art

This image was taken from Wikipedia.

Here is the summary from Goodreads:

“Captured by a giant! The BFG is no ordinary bone-crunching giant. He is far too nice and jumbly. It’s lucky for Sophie that he is. Had she been carried off in the middle of the night by the Bloodbottler, the Fleshlumpeater, the Bonecruncher, or any of the other giants-rather than the BFG-she would have soon become breakfast.

When Sophie hears that they are flush-bunking off in England to swollomp a few nice little chiddlers, she decides she must stop them once and for all. And the BFG is going to help her!”

I give The BFG a 3/5 stars for the stage of my life I am not, but as a child I remember it being one of my favorites, so a 5/5 stars for children.

5star

I remember reading this book for the first time in third or fourth grade.  It’s funny how books seemed so much longer back then.  I was originally introduced to Roald Dahl when my teacher read The Witches to my class.

220px-thewitches

This image was taken from Wikipedia.

I hope to re-read the Witches soon as well.  I recently re-read The BFG as it was made into a movie the past summer and was released on DVD a few weeks ago.  I remember loving the BFG (big, friendly giant) and Sophie.  However, I did forget some parts were a little dark.  This is a great book for children, they seem to skip right over some of the questionable parts as if by magic.

New Movie Cover:

product_thebfg_digitalhd_eb135fc0

This image was taken from Disney Movies.

I am not usually impressed by book to movie adaptations.  I was however impressed by this one.  There were a few small changes as well as an added plot line.  (I will not give it away for those who have not read or watched the BFG.).  Steven Spielberg did an amazing job like usual.  My favorite part of the meeting was when they went to catch the dreams.

 

I’m sure all of you have read or watched one of Roald Dahl’s works.  Below are some more of his creations (in addition to the BFG and the Witches):

  • Matilda
  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
  • Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator
  • James and the Giant Peach
  • The Twits
  • Fantastic Mr. Fox
  • George’s Marvelous Medicine
  • Danny and the Champion of the World
  • Boy: Tales of a Childhood (auto-biography)
  • Esio Trot
  • and more..

 

Roald Dahl:

He was considered one of the world’s best storytellers for children.

Roald Dahl birthday quiz - how well do you know your Dahl? Quentin Blake

This image was taken from Lisa’s History Room.

Here is the link to his official website.

Leave a Reply

