Outspoken Opinions #4 ~ Leggings

I have been looking forward to writing this post for a very long time.  Legging are a very popular fashion statement today.  Fashion is a very fast paced industry, with trends changing every few years.  I would not consider myself a fashionista in any way, shape, or form.

However, I was ahead of this trend:

blog-pic

My cool 2010 leggings.

Back when I would wear just leggings, I would be scolded by my peers and told to wear shorts over them.  I refused because wearing two layers of pants just seemed ridiculous.  Now, you don’t see anyone with shorts over their leggings.  (If anyone reading this does, I would love to see a picture, and I support your throw back!).

I personally do not own a pair of leggings.  (Gasp!) I know, but I simply do not see the need.  Everyone says that once you wear leggings you never go back.  I suppose the same is true for gum.  I have never chewed a piece of gum in my life.  (Gasp!)  I know that is shocking as well, but that is a story for a different day.

The “modern” leggings are perfectly fine in my opinion as long as they fit properly.  Some girls wear them to show off, but the impression they give off is not the one they desire.   Leggings also have many uses; they can be formal or casual depending on the top.  I’m not really sure why I haven’t gotten on the legging bus.  Maybe it is just because I don’t want to be in with the majority or the “popular”.  Leggings also require alternative footwear than the classic tennis shoes, you typically only see girls with leggings wearing Uggs or Converse.

Jeans are my go-to pair of pants.  I like jeans because I don’t have to worry about getting holes in them, no I don’t wear church jeans, and I can do anything in them.  I would worry about kneeling on the ground or accidentally wiping my hands on them.  I support you if you want to wear leggings, but they just aren’t my cup of tea.  I much prefer my jeans that I can wear no matter where I go and do everything I want to do.

Leave a Reply

