Catchy Crafts #4 ~ Hand Embroidery

I have been fascinated by hand embroidery for a long time.  From the towels, to the pillowcases, and to the quilts.  While visiting the state fair, I always have to stop at the arts and crafts building.  About five years ago, my aunt decided that instead of Halloween candy, she was going to give my cousin and I embroidery kits.  Since I was younger, I got a cross-stitch pattern.  (And believe me, that is a great place to start!)

My first kit:

product_detailed_image_311_285

This picture was taken from Jack Dempsey Needle Art.

 

Some basic supplies you will need to embroider are hoops, needles, embroidery floss, and a kit or fabric to embroider on.

 

Hoops: The classic hoops are wood, however I prefer the plastic ones.

1403264566

This picture was taken from Danking Enterprise.

You don’t need all of the sizes, but I would recommend getting sizes 4 – 8 inches for sure.

Needles: Any needles are fine as long as they have a big enough loop on the end to thread your embroidery floss through.

 

Embroidery Floss:

fvz6xyhgijg17gs-rect2100

This picture was taken from Instructables.

Embroidery floss is very cheap, sometimes as cheap as 3/$1.  Kits usually suggest what colors to use, but if you don’t mind it is much cheaper to buy a variety pack.

Kits: I have bought other kits, but have yet to make a lot of headway.

product_detailed_image_305_279

This picture was taken from Jack Dempsey Needle Art.

product_detailed_image_335_309

This picture was taken from Jack Dempsey Needle Art.

product_detailed_image_319_293

This picture was taken from Jack Dempsey Needle Art.

Leave a Reply

