Outspoken Opinions #3 ~ Electronics at the Table

Technology can be a great tool, but it can also stop progress in other areas.  The iPhone recently had its 10th birthday, and in the last decade there have been many changes in society.  Everyone is more connected and it is very easy to chat with people all over the country and the world.  This is great if you have friends and family far away, but is it harming your family and friends close to you?

After reflecting over the holiday season, food was a major part of the equation.  Another major part of the season was technology.  Don’t get me wrong, I took (and was in) many wonderful photos that will be great to look back on when we are older.  However, on Christmas Eve as I was celebrating with my family, in one room were the guys all on their phones in a circle.  Now, they may have been texting each other, but more than likely they were on Craigslist or YouTube.

I understand the need to get away.  I mean we all love our families, but sometimes they can just be TOO much.  Quickly checking your Instagram or watching your friends’ stories on Snapchat, or sending out a tweet is just fine, but there is a point where it turns from a taking a break to RUDE.

Teenagers usually get the bad reputation of having their phones on them all the time, including the dinner table.  I want to get this out in the open that my dad, along with some of my aunts and uncles, use their phones more than I do, including at the table.  It is one of my biggest pet peeves.  Life has taught me the hard way that life isn’t fair and that time isn’t infinite.  I don’t want to waste the final years, months, weeks, days, or hours with those I hold dear in my heart on my phone.

I have repeatedly shut of my families’ phones when they are at the dinner table, or knock their phones from their hands onto the table, of course after asking them to put them away.  Now I’m sure that who they are talking to online are  upset by this, don’t get me wrong I fall guilty to talking to people when they are spending time with their family too.  However, there is a time in place for that.  When you go out of our way to spend time with friends and family, you should actually spend time with them.   Shocking, right?  Being in the same room doesn’t develop any memories to look back on.  Some of my best memories with my cousin are playing dress-up and chasing each other outside.  I hope my little cousins don’t look back on their childhood and the only memories they can find are sharing the iPads and iPhones with each other.

So, can you do me a favor?  Just try not to use your phone when you are spending time with your family and close friends.  You might be amazed how much more fun family gatherings can be and the stories the older generations will share with you.  You might even realize what you have been missing out on by logging in.

Leave a Reply

