Media Mentions #2 ~ Divergent Series

The Hunger Games by: Suzanne Collins were my first experience with dystopian books, and I discovered them when I got the first one for free when I got my first Nook.  After finishing The Hunger Games series, a natural successor was the Divergent series by Veronica Roth.

These pictures were all taken from Amazon and the links are below.

Now you may be thinking that I am posting this on the wrong day, but I am here to talk about the movies more than I am about the books.  The books were very well written and were my favorite series for a very long time.  As per usual, the first one was the best, but the second and third were good, but not great.

These pictures were taken from Amazon.  Allegiant’s movie is the UK version as the US version isn’t released yet.

Now, I know I am not the first person to complain about this series.  The first movie the bomb diggety.  (I’m not sure if I am old enough to use the expression, but oh well)  The second movie only raised the bar for the third movie.  However, the third movie, like the third book was a let down. The third book needed a little more excitement, but Allegient made it look like it was on another planet (possibly Mars?).  The worst part was also that they stopped Allegient less than 30 pages (from my memory) from the end of the book.  I was okay with that because (no spoilers) I didn’t like how Veronica Roth ended the series.  Unfortunately, they are coming out with a fourth movie instead of leaving off the (bad) ending.  The fourth movie is called Ascendant.  I believe this is a mistake on the film maker’s behalf. It is clearly obvious that they just want more money as opposed to making Veronica Roth’s loyal readers happy.  Mockingjay Pt was justified because half the book was left, not 30 pages.

ascendant-movie

This picture was taken from Project Casting.

I’m not trying to persuade any of you on your feelings about the book series or the movie series.  This post is meant to be a rant on my behalf.  I am personally going to boycott the final movie and pretend it doesn’t exist.  I’m going to live in my own little world pretend that the series ends off where the Allegiant movie does.

Just curious, does anyone else shares this opinion?

If you would like to purchase Divergent, here is the link for Amazon.

If you would like to purchase Insurgent, here is the link for Amazon.

If you would like to purchase Allegiant, here is the link for Amazon.

Leave a Reply

