Outspoken Opinions #2 ~ Toilet Paper Roll

As I was watching Who Wants to be a Millionaire at my grandma’s house one day, I heard a very interesting question.  The question was “What is the most purchased item at Costco?” Two of the answers were throw away answers, but the other two were coffee and toilet paper.  I guessed coffee because there are about a million (see what I did there?) ads for coffee on TV.  However, I was wrong, the answer was toilet paper.  Looking back on it, it makes a lot of sense.  Everyone needs toilet paper, but not everyone drinks coffee.

Toilet paper has a lot of different brands as well.  I wonder often why they need to advertise toilet paper.  Excuse me, but who doesn’t buy toilet paper?  The real debate isn’t what brand to get, one-ply or two-ply, or ultra soft, etc.  The real debate is which was does the toilet paper roll go.

Now, I don’t want to get a lot of hate for this, but this topic really should be spoken about.  Personally, at my house our toilet paper roll goes over.  I would like to hear yours down below in the comment section.  For me it makes more sense for it to go over.  I’m sure there are arguments for both sides, but this is my personal preference.

Of course, I had to do my research.  I found an article by the Daily Mail that discusses this debate.  There actually is an answer to this, so millions of people are doing it wrong.  Honestly, I was a little nervous to find out if I am.

The debate was settled by the original patent for perforated toilet paper in 1891.  It was invented by Seth Wheeler in New York.

26ca40d900000578-3002112-image-a-11_1426758230162

This picture was taken from the Daily Mail article.

The answer is OVER.  Congratulations all of you who have been doing it right your entire life.  Now for those of you who believe in “under”, you have two options.  You can admit defeat and start using toilet paper properly or you can be in denial for the rest of eternity.

Now all silliness aside, we should really thank Seth Waller for the invention of perforated toilet paper.  It’s one invention that the majority of the world’s population uses every day.  An age-old debate has just be settled, this is a great fact to point out at parties, and a great way to critique your friends when you visit their homes.

Leave a Reply

