Music Maestro #2 ~ Piano Edition: Lessons/Statistics

I started learning piano in January of 2016.  I had always wanted to learn piano, but my persuasive skills weren’t as, well, persuasive as they are now.  My interest had peaked again because my aunt started taking lessons.  I am very thankful that my grandma gave me her keyboard that she wasn’t using.

My life is very busy and I didn’t have a time every week that I could commit to going to piano lessons, and I didn’t want to waste money on them either.  I then came to the conclusion that I can just teach myself.  It is a lot easier to do this in this day in age than it was thirty years ago due to technology on YouTube.  However, I wanted some structure in my learning, so I looked for a book as well.  After asking some of my friends who have taken piano lessons, I ended up purchasing the Piano Adventure Series.  They have a few series, but due to my age and wanting to learn along with my aunt, I chose the Accelerated Piano Adventures series.  They have other series for every age group: My First Piano Adventures,  Basic Piano Adventures, (the series I chose), and Adult Piano Adventures.

Here is a link to a helpful guide which series is right for you: Series Overview.

There are four main books in the series: Lesson, Theory, Technique and Artistry, and Performance.  Lesson is clearly the most important, and they are all great resources, but Lesson and Performance are the two I would buy.  They also offer a Sight-reading, Popular Repertoire, and Christmas book.

51rxpk8dwel-_sx373_bo1204203200_

This picture was taken from Amazon.

 

Here are some interesting statistics I found while researching:

These statistics were found on Forbes.

1. After nine months of weekly training in piano or voice, new research shows young students’ IQs rose nearly three points more than their untrained peers.

2. An added boost to IQ came to kids taught either piano or voice.

These statistics were found on US National Library of Medicine-National Institutes of Health.

3.Music training has become a useful framework to study brain plasticity.

4. Piano lessons decreased depression and induced positive mood states.

These statistics were found on Elissa Milne’s Blog.

 

 

5. An increase in adult students and in very young beginners (4 and 5 years old) and a sharp decline in beginners aged 9 and 10.

6. In the US roughly 1,000,000 units of [electronic keyboards] have been sold every year for the past decade.

Sources:
http://www.forbes.com/2004/07/15/cx_0715health.html
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3814522/
https://elissamilne.wordpress.com/2012/03/30/is-the-study-of-piano-declining-in-the-united-states-of-america/
One thought on “Music Maestro #2 ~ Piano Edition: Lessons/Statistics

Leave a Reply

