Babbling Books #2 ~ The Queen of the Tearling by: Erika Johansen

By: Erika Johansen


The Queen of the Tearling is a young adult fantasy book.  This is the first book in the Queen of the Tearling trilogy.

Kelsea was born to be the queen of the Tearling when she turned 19.  Her mother, the previous queen who was known for her beauty rather than her brains, had died 17 years ago. Before her mother died, she sent her away to be raised by one of her ladies, Carlin Glynn, and her husband, Barty.  She grew up hidden from the world in a small cottage in the woods.  Barty taught her life lessons and how to survive.  Carlin gave her basic schooling and the mistakes rulers have made all throughout history, even before the Crossing.

The Crossing occurred roughly 300 years before this book takes place. The founder of the Tearling, William Tear, along with 2,000 others left their lives to go to a new land and start over and create a new society.  Knowledge of before the Crossing is very limited, only that it was bad enough to leave everything behind, such as modern medicine and technology, and start anew.

The society that was envisioned, “The Better World”, quickly faded into the problems of before the Crossing. After Kelsea’s mom died, her uncle Thomas became Regent. Under his reign the country went in a downward spiral. The gap between the rich and poor widened, women’s rights quickly became forgotten, and education was forgotten. Worst of all, every month a shipment went to Mortsmene, the neighboring country, as payment not to invade the country again. It is a shipment of people, including children.

Kelsea faces lots of challenges: corruption, basic education and medical care, stopping the shipment and dealing with the consequences from Mortsmene, among many others all while trying not to get assassinated.  Fortunately, she is not alone; she has her captain of the guard, Mace, who is named after the weapon he used and two sapphires that have been claimed to be magical.

Read The Queen of the Tearling to find out if Kelsea can stay alive and save the Tearling.

I gave this book 5/5 stars. I am using the Goodreads’ ranking system meaning “I love it,”

For more reviews check this book out on Goodreads.

If you want to purchase this book it is available Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

The second book of this series is The Invasion of the Tearling and the final book in the trilogy is The Fate of the Tearling.

I gave The Invasion of the Tearling 4/5 stars.

I gave The Fate of the Tearling 3/5 stars.  

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s